Measure I Steering Committee Recognized by San Leandro Unified


CONTACT: Keziah Moss, Director of Community & Employee Engagement, (510) 667-6202,

Measure I Steering Committee Recognized by San Leandro Unified

December 12, 2018

SAN LEANDRO, CA: At Tuesday night’s SLUSD school board meeting, the members of the Measure I Steering Committee were presented with special recognition awards for helping secure overwhelming community support to restore essential school funding and protect the quality of education in the district’s schools. Measure I was approved by voters with a 75.08% approval rate, which is one of the largest percentages of “yes” votes in the district’s history.

The Measure I steering committee was led by SLED Executive Director Morgan Mack-Rose and former San Leandro Mayor Stephen Cassidy. Committee members included SLUSD School Board Trustee Evelyn Gonzalez, Trustee Christian Rodriguez and his wife Marina, Chris Deng, Lesley Feikert, Mike Katz, Jill Stowe, and Kathy Vitz. “We decided to forego hiring an outside campaign consultant to advise us on Measure I because we know the experts are amongst us,” said District Superintendent Mike McLaughlin, ”These exceptional community leaders know what San Leandro wants and, better yet, they know what San Leandro needs. We are deeply grateful for their service.”

The annual $39 parcel tax will go towards programs in math, science, technology, skilled trades, and the arts that prepare students for success in college and career. The funds will also be used to attract and retain highly qualified teachers, which has become extremely challenging with the booming Bay Area economy and housing market.  With California ranking among the lowest in the nation for per-pupil spending, SLUSD continues to rely on financial support from their community to support educational initiatives.

To see the latest news for the San Leandro Unified School District, please visit.